Elvis Was Wrong

It’s been a while. Thank you for your patience dear readers (both of you), as holidays, illness, and a bit of ennui have contributed to a lack of blogging. I’ve had bits and pieces of thoughts stirring over the last month so, for the 2015 initial post; Musings, Nagging Questions, and Curt Observations from five months in the Last Frontier…

The Pledge – Alaska state law dictates the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance in school daily. However, as in most states, students and staff are not compelled to stand and/or participate. We begin every day with Morning Meeting, an all-school gathering in our Commons, which we begin with the Pledge. As the year has progressed I’ve noticed fewer and fewer students standing. Is it out of principle or teen apathy/defiance?

Attendance – Highland Tech has had a notorious rate of unexcused absences. Why? Absent students who had not been called in were considered unexcused. I had to change that one right away. Now we call until we find the student. I’m told by staff members that many Alaskans don’t place a premium on education because of the availability of jobs that don’t require it. I’d like to think that’s not entirely accurate, however…

Parents have so far not seemed entirely invested in the education of their children. Because we do not have a traditional assessment system we do not have traditional grade reporting. No letter grades and no report cards. We have a high percentage of students who have not demonstrated proficiency in the number of standards they should have by this point in the year. However, I have heard barely a peep from parents concerned about this lack of progress. I recently read an article debunking the myth that parent involvement, socio-economic status, and school financing aren’t as important as the classroom teacher. I find evidence here to support that. My teachers are working tremendously hard, harder than most students. Productivity needs to be reinforced at home.

Weather – I don’t know what to tell you. More snow down there. More freezing temperatures down there. Looks like I picked the right time to move north.

Elvis Costello is one of my favorite singer/songwriters. However, in a late 80’s song he claimed, “Home isn’t where it used to be. Home is anywhere you hang your head.” I love my new school. I’m crazy about the staff and the kids. I’m really getting to know Anchorage, and the surrounding scenery is indescribable. I’ve travelled back to Chicago three times since moving to Alaska. It’s pretty clear. Home isn’t where I hang my head, home is where my wife and kids are.

One thought on “Elvis Was Wrong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *